

County Of Santa Cruz

COMMISSION ON THE ENVIRONMENT 701 OCEAN STREET, ROOM 330, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4073 (831) 454-2210 FAX: (831) 454-2710 TDD: (831) 454-2123

MINUTES

Regular Meeting – March 27, 2013 at 5 p.m. Board of Supervisors Chambers, 701 Ocean Street, Fifth Floor

I. Roll Call/Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 5:00 p.m.

Present: Haifley; Kasa; Pepping; Wise-West; Culbertson; Johnson; and Ketley Excused Absence: Christensen and Clark Absent: Adelman.

II. Additions/Changes to Agenda

Kasa asked to give update on plastic bag ban as Item V.D. vi.

III. Approval of Minutes – January 23, 2013

of January 23, 2013
Pepping
Culbertson
Haifley; Culbertson; Kasa; Johnson; Ketley and Pepping.
Wise-West
Clark; Adelman; and Christensen.

IV. Public Input/Oral Communications

V. Business Matters

A. Update on Climate Action Strategy report to the Board of Supervisors (David Carlson, Planning)

B. Discussion of draft Annual Work plan

Motion to adopt draft work plan with change to add words "and environment" to the 4 th bullet point under (1)		
Motion:	Kasa	
Second:	Johnson	
Ayes:	Haifley; Culbertson; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping; Ketley; and	
	Wise-West.	
Absent:	Adelman; Clark; and Christensen.	

C. Proposal to amend Commission bylaws regarding officer terms

Motion to approve amended bylaws as presented.

ieve ameriaea bylane ao precencea.
Culbertson
Pepping
Haifley; Culbertson; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping; Ketley; and
Wise-West.
Adelman; Clark; and Christensen.

D. Updates from Commissioners

- i. Climate Action Compact Working Group (Johnson)
- ii. Green Building Task Force
- iii. AMBAG Sustainable Communities, Regional Advisory Committee (Johnson)
- iv. Community Choice Aggregation (Clark/Johnson)
- v. CaliforniaFIRST (Clark)
- vi. Plastic bag ban (Kasa)

E. Legislative recommendations

F. Set next agenda

Motion to include 20 minute presentation on desalination project's environmental impact report (EIR) and direct staff to contact County staff for determination of purview for recommendation (Water Commission or other body) to Board of Supervisors.

Motion:	Johnson
Second:	Kasa
Ayes:	Haifley; Culbertson; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping; Ketley; and
	Wise-West.
Absent:	Adelman; Clark; and Christensen.

G. Announcements

VI. Adjournment

Approved motion to adjourn at 6:01 p.m.		
Motion:	Pepping	
Second:	Kasa	
Ayes:	Haifley; Culbertson; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping; Ketley; and	
	Wise-West.	
Absent:	Adelman; Clark; and Christensen	

Next regular meeting is May 22, 2013